Five Straight for Begg

The first feature on the track would be the eagerly anticipated return of the Chet’s Auto Service / Economy Print and Graphics Sportsmen. They would be going 25 laps around the 3/8s (.375) mile oval. Rookie points leader Vinnie Miller would lead the field down to chief starter Jeremy Slayden’s green flag. Miller and Two-time Pro Late Model Track Champion Jeff Warren would battle in the early going, trading the lead several times around the high banks. In the mean time, Travis Skarvi would be the car on the move, as he worked his way towards the front, running right behind Miller and Warren. Once Miller got clear of Warren Skarvi would advance and be right on Miller’s back bumper Skarvi would advance to the top spot on lap seven. Skarvi would put together a decent lead until lap 13, when a caution would fall on the Speedway. As the field lined up for a restart, track officials noticed a flat left front tire underneath Skarvi’s machine. Skarvi would be forced to relinquish the lead to current points leader Chris Begg. From that point on Begg would have clear sailing as he went on to claim his fifth straight feature win. Warren would finish second with Vinnie Miller, Billy Hagon and Don Riley rounding out the top five. Heat race wins went to Ken Jostock Jr. and Jimmy Stratton took heat race wins with Begg setting fast time with a blistering quick 16.988.

Filed Under: Featured,Sportsman