Lytle Wins, Clemens Claims Championship

The final event of the evening would be the Liskey’s Auto and Truck Service Modifieds going 30-laps. A late arrival in the field was Points leader Nick Clemens. Clemens had also been in contention for a Championship up at the Dixie Motor Speedway. They had their championship for Modifieds the same night as Owosso’s, and Clemens had run their feature finishing second and locking up his third Championship at the Birch Run, Michigan Speedway. Now, Clemens would try to lock up his second Championship of the day. Dave Christensen would start on the pole, and jumped out to the early lead, but Reigning Rookie of the Year Damian Lytle was hooked up on the inside groove. Lytle would work his way forward, finally driving underneath Christensen on lap 14. Clemens worked his way up through the field, and made it to the second spot, but he wouldn’t be able to run down the Laingsburg, Michigan driver as Lytle went on to claim his second feature win of the season. Clemens was second with Laci Donnert, Christensen and Adam Hudson completing the top five. Alex Donnert won the Dash with Gary Pierce taking the heat race win. Clemens would be crowned Champion, his second of the year, with 2012 Sportsmen Champion Chris Begg the top rookie.

Filed Under: Featured,Modifieds