Short Starts Shotgun to Success

The next feature of the evening would be the inaugural appearance for the Bishop Performance Legends Series, running a 25-lap main event. Newly crowned 2012 Series Champion Rick Kilbourn would lead the field down for the start. Kilbourn would battle in the early running with Ben Rouster for the top spot. The two drivers would race side by side for several laps, until fast qualifier Loren Short made it to the front. Short had set the mark in qualifying earlier that afternoon and had elected to start in the back of the field for a $100 bonus from Fast Track Promotions Inc. Short would work past ROuster on lap eight, and by lap 10 was at the front of the pack. Short would go on to set a torrid pace, as he picked up the big win. Kilbourn was second with Donny Matteson Jr., Chis Metdepenningen, and Derek Lacey rounding out the top five. Mitchell Huber won the heat race, with Short claiming the Dash and Derek Lacey winning the Australian Pursuit. Short set the mark in qualifying, laying down a 17.924.

Filed Under: Featured