Jason Parish Wins Big Money Opener!

5-10-14 – With Much Anticipation, we All were eagerly awaiting the JR Neely Home Improvement Modified Opening Night! Due to the cancellation of the original season opener on May 3rd, the extra purse money that JR Neely Home Improvements offered for the season series was rolled over into the Opening Night, rescheduled for May 10th! The 50 Lap Feature Event paid $3,000.00 for the First Place Finisher! 29 cars were on hand to try to earn a position in the 24 car field. All of the Heat races were run as Transfer Races for the Feature Event. There was a final 15 Lap, Last Chance Race, to fill the last 8 positions. Seven cautions would slow the Feature Event but the action never stopped! Four lead changes gave several cars a shot at the Big Money and the Owosso Option continued to change the positions in the field! Jason Parish, Evan Barrett, Laci Donnert and Larry Wallace all took their turns leading the event. Jon McNett, Travis Eddy, Trei Duebel, Dave Christenson and Dennis Uhlman all were within the top 5 at one point or another. It was Open-Wheel Racing at it’s finest as the race cars continuously swapped positions and raced 3-wide! With just 2 laps to go, Laci Donnert and Travis Eddy made contact causing a spin and resulting in a flat tire for the Donnert machine. New leader, Larry Wallace took over the lead and on lap #49 another caution flag flew! With one remaining lap to go, Wallace chose the bottom groove with his Owosso Option. Jason Parish made a daring pass on the inside of the track coming off turn #4 to win the race by a windshield! It was an unbelievable finish to a great night of racing! Dan Loughgan would finish 3rd, Dennis Uhlman finished 4th and Tony Basalone finished 5th. Dennis Uhlman was the Fast Qualifier, Brad Wyatt, Jason Parish, Frank Evans III and Bo Smith won the Transfer Heat Races.

Filed Under: Featured,Modifieds