Reseigh Reigns in Truck Shoot out

by Ed Inloes

Owosso, MI (06/05/2021) – Another summer-like evening greeted everyone on Saturday night at Owosso Speedway. It was the second “Shoot Out” of the season and the Finish Line Auto Repair Truck division was the headliner on this night. Throughout the season, each division will get an opportunity to run for some extra cash incentives, along with trophies for the top three finishers in the nights feature events.
After three nights of racing this season, Brad Reseigh has shown he will be a contender for the championship. He set fast time, and patiently worked his way to the front in the 20 lap feature to grab his second win in a row. Chad Skeen was a distant second at the line, followed by Jim Gokee Jr, Darren Burton, and Scott Arden. Gokee won the heat race.
The Outlaw Super Late Models were in town for the first of four visits to the Big “O”. Local standout, Jason Felver, was fast qualifier. In their 50 lap feature, Jimmy O Smith took the early lead, but on lap 6, Blake Childers moved around him for the top spot. Childers set sail on a long green flag run until a lap 35 caution for a Felver spin slowed the field. Officials gave Felver his spot back and on the restart, he would do his best to mount a charge on Childers. But his tires seemed shot after the spin and on lap 46 he spun
again and then retreated to the pits. On the lap 46 restart, Mark Shook started underneath Childers, and the two drove hard for the lead, making major contact coming through turn four and down the front stretch. The end result had Childers #33 in the wall in turn one and done for the night. Shook was sent to the rear by track officials. With three laps to go, Alex Hagan inherits the lead and holds on for the feature win. Jack Varney Jr was second followed by Todd Rosebrugh, Shook, and Mike Samson.
In Owosso Auto Mall Pure Stock action, Jason Spencer again set fast time. The heat race was won by Brent Voris, and the dash by Lonnie Saumier Jr. The 25 lap feature was exciting as always and camedown to the last lap to decide it. Voris was able to snag the lead early and build up a little cushion while Saumier and Spencer tried to work their way to the front. Saumier slowly reeled Voris in, and in the late stages, he had got to his bumper. But Voris held his line and was able to hold the three time champion off
for his first ever feature win at the speedway. Saumier had to settle for second, followed by Jake Pearson, Spencer, and Kyle Callahan.
The Geyer Auction Services Sportsman had Ryan Cords as the quickest in qualifying, with Ryan’s Dad, Russ, winning the heat race. It was a family affair in the 25 lap feature as Ryan tried lap after lap to get around his Dad for the lead. But the savvy veteran was up to the task and grabbed his first feature win of the season. Ryan followed him across the line followed by, Fred Cummings Jr, Hunter Forrester, and Steven Pelky.
The Parisian Home Improvement Front Wheel Drive division concluded the night’s action. Again this week, the division was split in two according to their qualifying times. Dylan Spencer was fast qualifier again this week. Heat races were won by Bobbi Jo Jernigan, Rick Gokee Jr., Tom Perakovic, and Leroy Whitaker. In the FWD A feature, Gokee, and his son, Blake, battled for position with Spencer through the latter stages. On a restart with 2 to go, Spencer grabbed the outside and set sail to what was thought to be his third straight feature win of the season. Unfortunately, he failed the post-race technical inspection
and the win was given to Blake Gokee. Father, Rick was second just in front of Parker Vozar, and Corbin Kelley. In the B division feature Whitaker took the lead late to garner his first feature win in a long time.
Abby Kolb worked up to second place followed by Jeffery Asmus, Simon Watters, and Olle Workman.
Next Saturday night is Autograph night at the speedway with all five house division in action. Go to for more details.

Filed Under: Featured,Latest News