Saumier Snags “Shoot-out” & Sixth Straight

by Ed Inloes

Owosso, MI (7/31/2021) – An absolutely perfect evening for outdoor activity was enjoyed by all who attended the Owosso Speedway on Saturday. It was the fourth “Shoot Out” of the season and the Owosso Auto Mall Pure Stock division was the headliner on this night. Throughout the season, each division will get an opportunity to run for some extra cash incentives, along with trophies for the top three finishers in the nights feature events. Jason Spencer again set fast time this week, flirting with the track record. Mark Palmer won the heat race, and Brent Voris was victorious in the dash. In the 30 lap “Shoot Out” feature, it was a mad scramble in the early laps as the faster qualified cars attempted to move to the front as quickly as possible. After 10 laps, Voris, Saumier, and Spencer had found the front. On lap 12, Saumier made the pass for the lead. A red flag for fluid on the track was the only thing to slow Lonnie down as he was able to pull away in the late stages and claim his sixth feature win in a row, and the Shoot Out first place trophy. Spencer again had to settle for second. Kyle Callahan finished third, ahead of Nick Johnston, and Andrew Burton.

Another streak was kept intact as Darren Burton won his third feature in a row in the Finish Line Auto Repair Truck division. He had a perfect night as he won his heat race, and set a new track record in qualifying. He was trailed across the finish line in the 20 lap feature by Chad Skeen, Nick Schutt, Brad Reseigh, and Tony Hart.

A new streak has started in the Howe Racing Enterprises Modified division as Nick Lechota won his second feature in a row. He also had a perfect night as he was fast qualifier, won his heat race, and the feature. Lechota was patient in the 35 lap feature as he methodically picked off the competition one by one on his way to the front, taking over the lead from Laci Donnert on lap 15. Donnert ran well in his first night behind the wheel this season and held on to second, holding off current point leader, Scott Quaal, Larry Plamondon, and Nick Larabee, your top five.

One streak came to an end as John Eastman Jr. won the Parisian Home Improvement Front Wheel Drive class feature. It brought Dylan Spencer’s win streak to an end, as it was John’s first ever feature win. Eastman also set fast time, while Corbin Kelley won the heat on a last lap pass, and Spencer won the dash. Spencer tried valiantly to get around Eastman in the final laps of the 20 lap feature, but Eastman was too strong on this night. Spencer settled for second, with Billy Luckhurst, Parker Vozar, and Kelley completing the top five.

And in Geyer Auction Services Sportsman action, two-time defending track Champion, Russ Cords set fast time. Kevin Harder won the heat race, and Fred Cummings Jr. won the dash. In the 25 lap feature, Russ Cords broke away early and had a huge advantage until a caution came out on lap 18 to tighten the field. This brought Cummings, winner of the last two feature races, right next to Russ on the restart. Cords nailed the restart and Cummings never could mount a serious challenge and Russ earned his second feature win of the season. Cummings came home second, followed by Ryan Cords, who won the Spectator Drag race at intermission, Hunter Forrester, and Harder.

Filed Under: Featured,Latest News