Spencer Steals Mod Opener at Owosso Speedway

by Ed Inloes

Owosso, MI (05/15/2021) – Average late spring temperatures greeted fans and drivers alike for opening night of the 2021 season at Owosso Speedway. The Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club also kicked off their 2021 campaign as they will make stops at several different race tracks across the state of Michigan throughout the racing season. On these chosen nights, card carrying members get in absolutely free, and many were in attendance at Owosso for the opener.

In Modified action, Scott Quall set fast time, and Damien Lytle won the Heat race. In the 30 lap feature, Curtis Spencer started last in the field, due to not qualifying. As a matter of fact, the team didn’t even think they would be able to race an hour before it started. Last minute tweeks and adjustments let them take a chance on running, and run they did. Spencer took advantage of early maneuvering by his competition to shoot around the outside of most everyone and grab the lead on Lap 6. From there he never looked back and the race went caution free and Spencer cruised to his first ever Modified Feature win at Owosso. Chris Begg finished second with Nick Clemons, Damien Lytle and Nick Larabee completing the top five.

In other action at the speedway, Fred Cummings Jr set a new track record in qualifying for the Sportsman division and Ryan Cords won the Heat race. Ryan come back to win the 25 lap feature with Cummings all over him at the end. Two-time defending track champion, Russ Cords, finished third, followed by Hunter Forrester and Jim Miller Jr.

Pure Stock action saw Jason Spencer set fast time, with Heat races going to Andrew Burton and Lonnie Saumier Jr. The three time track champion Saumier also collected the 25 lap feature with Spencer, Brent Voris, Burton, and Bob Farley rounding out the top five.

The Front Wheel Drive class was split into two divisions based on qualifying times and Blake Gokee out qualified the field. He also won his Heat race along with Pat Dent, Jeff Asmus and Corbin Kelley. In the A Division 20 lap feature, young Dylan Spencer won his first ever, with Billy Luckhurst finishing second, followed by John Eastman, Gokee, and Dent. In the B division, Kelley found victory lane again for his first ever feature win, on his first ever night of racing. Barry Gokee wound up second, with Josh Shiver, Adam Whitaker, and Abbie Kolb completing the top five.

The Truck division saw Bred Reseigh set fast time and win the heat race. But it was 15 year old Gregory Long III  winning his first ever feature. He was followed by Chad Skeen, Reseigh, John (Stubby) Davis and Nicholas Hart.

Owosso Speedway is in action again this Saturday night with a FWD Spring Shootout, with Modifieds, Sportsman, Pure Stocks and Trucks all scheduled. Go to http://owossospeedway.com/ for additional information.


Filed Under: Featured,Latest News